Back to All Events

Democratic Club Monthly Meeting

Come join the Cape Girardeau County Democrats at their monthly meeting preparing for Election 2020: 6:15 PM room set up and social time, 6:45 general meeting.

Special Guest: Elad Gross, good government advocate and candidate for the Democratic nomination for Missouri Attorney General 2020. Topic: Stopping dark money influence in Missouri politics.

Candidate meet & greet immediately following the general meeting (voluntary campaign donations accepted).

Speaker Bio
Elad Gross, a 30 year old Attorney and Democrat from St. Louis, served as an assistant attorney general under Chris Koster. He recently made headlines for filing a lawsuit aimed at forcing a nonprofit associated with former Gov. Eric Greitens to reveal donor records. Gross has described A New Missouri as a dark-money group designed to skirt campaign finance laws and has been critical of Attorney General Josh Hawley for not investigating it.

He has been trying to fix the many ethics issues we have in our state, and [that] led him again and again to the attorney’s general office. “Unfortunately, he got to see firsthand what happens when the [office] doesn’t do such great work.”

Missouri Gov. Mike Parson has named State Treasurer Eric Schmitt to replace Hawley, who recently unseated U.S. Sen. Claire McCaskill, a Democrat. The next election for the attorney general position will be held in 2020. 

Gross, who also founded an organization aimed at providing better educational opportunities to at-risk children, said he will focus his campaign on “ethics reform issues, getting dark money out of politics, prosecuting corruption.”

He or another Democrat nominee will likely face an uphill battle in a state that has becoming increasingly red. President Donald Trump won Missouri by 19 points, and Hawley won by 10.

“I’m more focused on fixing the office and making sure it works for Missourians rather than as a person from one party,” said Gross, who was one of the recipients of the Jewish Light’s Unsung Hero award in 2016.